Learn more about desalination

We operate eight groundwater desalination plants across South Australia:

  • Hawker – this plant has produced drinking water for Hawker township in the Flinders Ranges since 2014, meeting the challenge of groundwater that is very hard and high in total dissolved solids.
  • Leigh Creek – drawing from a number of local bores, this plant treats a groundwater supply that is highly salty.
  • APY Lands and Yalata desalination plants – we operate desalination plants at Indulkana, Mimili, Kaltjiti (Fregon), Yunyarinyi (Kenmore Park) and Murputja in the far north of South Australia, and Yalata on the far west coast. Many of these plants are also solar-powered, helping ensure reliable and sustainable drinking water for everyone living in these communities.

Read more about the process here.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
<span class="translation_missing" title="translation missing: en.projects.blog_posts.show.load_comment_text">Load Comment Text</span>